about  |  calendar  |  downloads  |  news  |  archives  |  stadiums  |  staff  |  purchase tickets




DeKalb County School District is renown in the state of Georgia for its football accomplishments on and off the field.

The school district boasts 13 state titles and repeatedly puts out state title contenders and Top 10 ranked football programs from year to year.

Avondale (1958, 1963, 1976) and Lakeside (1970, 1972, 1991) have both won three state championships to combine for six of the 13 owned by DeKalb County Schools. Cedar Grove which won its first state title in 2016 joined Avondale and Lakeside with three state titles after becoming the first DeKalb team to win back-to-back state titles in 2018 and 2019.

Southwest DeKalb follows right behind with two state titles (1972, 1995) and with its 2011 Class AAAA state title Tucker joined in with two (2008, 2011).

Redan won its lone title in 1979 and Cedar Grove joined the party in 2016 with its run to the Class AAA state championship.

Tucker (2011) and Dunwoody (1993) are the only two DeKalb teams to go 15-0 in a season.

Eighteen of the current 19 DeKalb County High Schools hold playoff appearances during their football histories. M.L. King Jr., the second newest school in the county, made its first appearance in the state playoffs in 2003 after winning the Region 5-AAA title. Arabia Mountain, the newest school in the county, joined the playoffs in 2016 for the first time and has a string of four consecutive appearances (2016-2019).

DeKalb County also tops the state in talent produced and athletes signing scholarships to continue their education and athletic careers on the next level. College coaches from across the Southeast and many other parts of the country find academically qualified athletes every year as they visit games and the annual DeKalb County Schools Football Video Forum for college scouts.

The 2013 DeKalb County signing class totaled 122 signatures as the district surpassed the century mark for the fourth consecutive year. The previous three years totals were 119 (2010), 120 (2011) and 132 (2012).

State Titles

  • Avondale (3) – 1958, 1963, 1976
  • Cedar Grove (3) – 2016, 2018, 2019
  • Lakeside (3) – 1970, 1972, 1991
  • SW DeKalb (2) – 1972, 1995
  • Tucker (2) – 2008, 2011
  • Dunwoody (1) – 1993
  • Redan (1) – 1979