During its January 9, 2023, Regular Board Meeting Work Session, DeKalb County Board of Education (DCBOE) members elected Mr. Diijon DaCosta, Sr. (District 6) as its new Board Chair. Mrs. Deirdre P. Pierce (District 3) was unanimously selected as Vice Chair for 2023.

“I am humbled by this honor to lead the DeKalb County Board of Education as its chairman. As a proud graduate, former teacher and district employee, father, and Board member, I have seen firsthand the extraordinary impact that a high-quality public education has on our students and communities,” said Mr. DaCosta.

“Working collaboratively with my fellow Board members, we will continue to focus on moving DeKalb County Schools forward by selecting a permanent superintendent and other critical, highly qualified District leaders. Moreover, we will remain fully engaged in reviewing our Comprehensive Master Plan to deliver the outstanding facilities our scholars and employees deserve, and our communities want.”

Mrs. Pierce also expressed her gratitude for being selected for her new role.

“I am extraordinarily grateful to serve as vice chair of this Board to support my colleagues and our incredible District leadership faithfully,” said Mrs. Pierce. “As always, my commitment remains to have a unified Board approach in working with staff to implement transformative approaches to helping students excel academically, socially, and emotionally.”

At today’s meeting, the Board affirmed its commitment to comply with the Board Members’ Ethics Policy and approved its DCBOE 2023 Georgia Legislative Priorities.

On Friday, January 6, three DCBOE members took their oath to begin four-year terms: Mr. DaCosta, Sr., Ms. Allyson Gevertz (District 4), and the newest Board member, Mrs. Whitney McGinniss (District 2), who replaced Mr. Marshall Orson, who did not seek reelection. Open link to view the Board of Education Oath of Office ceremony.

For a comprehensive listing of DCBOE members and individual biography details, click here.