(STONE MOUNTAIN, GA)- The DeKalb County School District (DCSD) proudly announces that eight high school seniors were named Georgia Scholars for 2024. In all, 177 seniors from across the state were recognized by the Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) on April 10.

GaDOE honors high school seniors who have demonstrated excellence in academics, extracurricular activities, community involvement, and home life through the Georgia Scholar program. To qualify for the prestigious recognition, students must exhibit exceptional performance in all aspects of school life, community activities, and at home. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for their diploma as a symbol of their outstanding achievements. The DCSD students honored this year are:

Chamblee High School
  • Shruti Nainwal
  • Sophia Wang
Dunwoody High School
  • Athena Misewicz
  • Avery Watts
  • Blake Boettcher
  • Maximus Stetter
  • Varnika Kanagala
Southwest DeKalb High School
  • Autumn Luke

DeKalb Superintendent Dr. Devon Q. Horton praised these impressive, well-rounded seniors for this extraordinary accomplishment.

“Congratulations to these eight students on earning this incredible recognition. They have exceeded expectations both in the classroom and across the DeKalb County community, setting a remarkable precedent for themselves and future generations to follow,” Dr. Horton said.

Georgia State Superintendent Richard Woods agrees.

“These 177 Georgia students have made our state proud through their stellar efforts in the classroom and their communities,” Superintendent Woods said. “The Georgia Scholar designation is a recognition of their leadership and diligence. I wish them great success as they continue into their futures and know they will continue to contribute to their communities and our state.”

See the complete list of Georgia Scholars for 2024 HERE.

For more information on the Georgia Scholar Program, click HERE.