Saints defeat Crisp County Cougars 21-14 for title

Cedar Grove football champions on stage 2019The Cedar Grove High School Saints football team are champions once again after defeating the Crisp County Cougars 21-14 in the Class AAA state championship game on December 14, 2019, at Georgia State Stadium.

The first half of the game was scoreless until Cedar Grove found the end zone before halftime. A 12-yard run by quarterback Austin Smith led to a two-yard touchdown run by Smith to give the Saints 7-0 lead.

In the third quarter, the Saints extended their lead to 14-0 on an 18-yard touchdown run by running back Chavon Wright with 6:44 remaining in the quarter. Crisp County cut the score to 14-7 on a 20-yard touchdown run by Marquise Palmer with 18 seconds remaining in the quarter.

In the fourth quarter, a 17-yard touchdown pass from Smith to wide receiver Rashod Dubinion gave Cedar Grove a 21-7 lead with 9:43 remaining in the game. With 1:18 remaining, Crisp County blocked a Cedar Grove punt and Laravious Walker returned it for a 27-yard touchdown, cutting the Saints’ lead to 21-14.

Crisp County tried an onside kick following the touchdown, but the ball was recovered by Cedar Grove’s Sam Pittman, sealing the victory and the second consecutive state title for the Saints.

The state title was also the third title for the program in four seasons, and the first under first-year head coach Miguel Patrick.

Contributed by Carla Parker