DeKalb County School District (DCSD) well represented in the National Football League this season.

By Carla Parker

DCSD has 15 alums on NFL rosters when games kickoff on Sunday, Sept. 13. Six schools will former players on 13 NFL teams. Those former players are Arabia Mountain High School alums Breshad Perriman (New York Jets) and Jakobi Meyers (New England Patriots); Columbia High School alum Gerald Everett (Los Angeles Rams); M. L. King Jr. High School alum Kevin Byard (Tennessee Titans); Stephenson High School alums Mike Davis (Carolina Panthers), Bruce Irvin (Seattle Seahawks), Preston Smith (Green Bay Packers), Montez Sweat (Washington Football Team) and D.J. Wonnum (Minnesota Vikings); Southwest DeKalb High School alum Rock Ya-Sin (Indianapolis Colts); and Tucker alums A.J. Bouye (Denver Broncos), Jonathan Ledbetter (Miami Dolphins), Duke Shelley (Chicago Bears), Neiko Thorpe (Seattle Seahawks) and James Vaughters (Chicago Bears).

Ivrin and Thorpe will be back home this weekend as the Seattle Seahawks open the season against the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday. Shelley and Vaughters will also make a trip back home to Atlanta when the Chicago Bears take on the Falcons on Sept. 27, Davis will be back in Atlanta on Oct. 11 when the Falcons host the Panthers, and Bouye will play in his hometown when the Denver Broncos come to Atlanta on Nov. 8.

With five players each in the NFL, Stephenson and Tucker are tied with Norcross High School in Gwinnett County to lead the state of Georgia with the most players on NFL rosters this season.

Irvin leads the list in NFL experience with nine years, followed by Bouye and Thorpe with eight years.


Breshad Perriman WR NY Jets Arabia Mountain Central Florida
Jakobi Meyers WR New England Arabia Mountain North Carolina State
Gerald Everett TE LA Rams Columbia South Alabama
Gerald Everett TE LA Rams Columbia South Alabama
Kevin Byard FS Tennessee M.L. King Jr. Middle Tennessee
Mike Davis RB Carolina Stephenson South Carolina
Bruce Irvin LB Seattle Stephenson West Virginia
Preston Smith OLB Green Bay Stephenson Mississippi State
Montez Sweat DE Washington Stephenson Mississippi State
D.J. Wonnum (R) DE Minnesota Stephenson South Carolina
Rock Ya-Sin CB Indianapolis SW DeKalb Temple
A.J. Bouye CB Denver Tucker Central Florida
Duke Shelley CB Chicago Tucker Kansas State
Neiko Thorpe CB Seattle Tucker Auburn
Jonathan Ledbetter DE Miami Tucker Georgia
James Vaughters LB Chicago Tucker Stanford