Six schools eligible for national award

The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) recently named six DeKalb County School District (DCSD) schools that are eligible for national recognition.

Six DCSD schools—Arabia Mountain High School, DeKalb Early College Academy (DECA), Henderson Mill Elementary, Livsey Elementary, Robert Shaw Theme School, and Wynbrooke Elementary—were named as contenders for the National Title I Schoolwide Distinguished School Award by the GaDOE.

This prestigious honor is awarded to two schools from each state every year by the National Association of ESEA (Elementary and Secondary Education Act) State Program Administrators (NAESPA). The winning schools are chosen based on their outstanding achievements in education while receiving federal funding, evidenced by being ranked in the top 5 percent on the single 2018 CCRPI score.

“We are thrilled to have not just one or two, but six DeKalb County School District schools eligible for such an honorable national recognition,” said Superintendent/CEO Dr. R. Stephen Green. “This eligibility signifies that students in every corner of our district are exceeding expectations with measurable results. It shows that teachers and faculty in these schools are not just meeting standards, but surpassing them with ease. We wish them luck in the rigorous upcoming application process, but rest assured knowing they are up to the challenge. Congratulations, and soar on!”

In being eligible, all six DCSD schools have already been recognized for exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years, closing the achievement gap between student groups based on socioeconomic circumstances, and excellence in serving special student populations, which includes homeless, migrant, English learners, and more.

Each school will now begin an application process that takes a closer look at each of these factors. Winners will receive the National Title I Schoolwide Distinguished School Award as well as $20,000 from the GaDOE’s Title I Program. All winners will be honored at the National ESEA Conference, scheduled to take place in Atlanta in February 2020.