Overview

The Division of Finance is the principal fiscal advisory/controller division for the DeKalb County School District. The division consists of approximately 38 employees working in the areas of Financial Systems, Accounting, Accounts Payable, Budgeting, Payroll and Purchasing; 12 under Risk Management and 38 under School Nutrition Services all under the managerial direction of the Office of the Chief Financial Officer. The Chief Financial Officer reports to the Superintendent of the DeKalb County School District.

GADOE

Budget

The Budget Department is principally responsible for assisting the Chief Financial Officer in the redaction of the annual ‘all funds’ budgets (presently in excess of $1 billion). Major initiatives within this department presently are the conversion of the financial statements from a cash basis to an accrual basis, particularly as it relates to reporting to the Board of Education.

Additionally, this department is principally responsible for the conversion to the mandated State Chart of Accounts; a project which is presently underway and scheduled for completion sometime in 2015.

The Budget Department is also critical relative to periodic reporting functions, informal training sessions, budget monitoring throughout the year, and completion of our Annual External Audit by the State Department of Audits and Accounts (DOAA).

Payroll

The Payroll Department is responsible for the twice monthly payments (via mostly direct deposits) to the district’s 13,000+ employees. Additionally, garnishments are also handled in this department.

The Payroll Department is critical in relation to answering the many questions employees, and their family members, have relative to the payroll process. This department also ensures that compensation is accurate and that benefits have been correctly accounted for.

Additionally, the Payroll Department assists in training endeavors such as the Summer Leadership Conference and the annual Bookkeepers Training.

Accounts Payable

The Accounts Payable Department is principally responsible for the legally documented and correct payments to the School District’s Federal and Non-Federal vendors. Annually, approximately 700 vendors are processed. Improving account payable efficiencies by a better realignment of staff and workflow enables this group to process a greater workload at less cost.

Accounting

The Accounting Department is critical in relation to assisting schools with their internal checking account functions and will assist with the installation of a new school-based accounting software. The department is also critical in relation to analyzing overall budgetary cash flow relative to the issuance of Tax Anticipation Notes; assisting the district in meeting its cash flow needs. Finally, the Accounting Department calculates the annual Charter School payments for the approved Charter Schools within the DeKalb County School District.

Purchasing

The Purchasing Department is responsible for the legally correct and smooth workflow of the purchasing process. It is involved with the approval process of travel, the reporting by vendor of cumulative earned amounts, the solicitation of construction and non-construction purchasing needs, along with needed contract extensions. Additionally, this department assists in training endeavors such as the Summer Leadership Conference and the annual Bookkeepers Training.

Staff Directory

Budget Finance Dept

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Finance Systems and Reports

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Purchasing and Procurement

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Contracts

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Contracts Cadesha West Cadesha.West@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0108 678-507-6175
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Accounts Payable

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 AP Manager III Eric Cannandy eric_cannady@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0124
2 AP Clerk III Melvenia Carter melvenia_carter@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0111
3 AP Clerk III Melissa Jefferson melissa_jefferson@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0284
4 AP Clerk III Vermona Pigues vermona_pigues@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0112
5 AP Clerk III Sandra Sims sandra_sims@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0114
6 AP Specialist Linda Williams linda_r_williams@dekalbchoolsga.org 678-676-0118
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Accounting

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Interim Accounting Manager Earlvon Corbin earlvon_corbin@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0514
2 Finance/Accountant I Felecia Heath felecia_health@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0261
3 Specialist II/Local School Accounting Cynthia B. Prather cynthia_b_prather@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0282
4 Accountant/Journals, Stipends, Reports, Deposits William Stephens william_t_stephens@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0115
5 Clerical Sub Alexis Williams alexis_williams@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0155
6 Accountant III/Reconciliations/Journal Entry Teresa Williams teresa_e_williams@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0280
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Capital Assets

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Capital Assets Manager Lance McConkey lance_mcconkey@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0445
2 Capital Asset Auditor Brian Kelley patrick_kelley@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0271
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Payroll

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Payroll email Main email: payrollstaff@dekalbschoolsga.org
2 Payroll Manager Vonda Buggs vonda_a_buggs@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0001
3 Manual Checks/Adjustments Connie Neely Connie_Neely@dekalbschoolsga.org
4 Wage & Garnishment Kelvin Thompson kelvin_c_thompson@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0348
5 Georgia Foster Georgia_Foster@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0100
6 Genna Hall Genna_Hall@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0364
7 Yvette Johnson yvette_johnson@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0128
8 Legals, W2 Re-Print, Leave Report/ Earning History Malik McCowan Malik_Mccowan@dekalbschoolsga.org 676-676-0243
9 Direct Deposit, Extra Activity (Facility),Rapid Pay Card Teri Noble teri_n_noble@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0119
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

Risk Management

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Bus, Car, Van, Truck Accident Claims Adjuster Iris Nixon iris_nixon@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0241
2 Bus, Car, Van, Truck Accident Claims Adjuster Linda Brown Linda_brown@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0404
3 Workers' Compensation Claims Adjuster Maria Ferraro maria_ferraro@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0126
4 Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster Itelomme Fene itelomme_fene@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-0402
5 Workers' Compensation Claims Adjuster Tonia Young tonia_young@dekalbschoosga.org 678-676-0355
6 Administrative Assistant for Risk Management Mercedes Evans mercedes_evans@dekalbschoolsga.org 676-676-0190
7 Independent Contractor Workers' Compensation Claims Supervisor Lizzie Simmons lizzie.simmons@bwood.com 678-676-0401
8 Independent Contractor Workers' Compensation Claims Adjuster Janet Ward janet.ward@bwood.com 678-676-0727
9 Independent Contractor Workers' Compensation Claims Adjuster Tammie Williams tammie.williams@bwood.com 678-676-0279
10 Independent Contractor Workers' Compensation Claims Assistant Queenisha Sullivan queenisha.sullivan@bwood.com 678-676-0506
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone

School Nutrition Services

wdt_ID Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone
1 Executive Director Dr. Connie R. Walker connie_r_walker@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1780 404-956-9460
2 Assistant Director Janet Stone janet_v_stone@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1782 404-368-5576
3 Administrative Assistant Brenda A. Rowan brenda_a_rowan@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1786
4 Regional Compliance Manager/Region III Jacqueline Bailey jacqueline_bailey@dekalbschoolsga.org 676-676-1788 678-984-1876
5 Regional Compliance Manager/Region Vll Margo Moore-Allen margo_moore-allen@dekalbachoolsga.org 678-676-1791 678-758-9110
6 Regional Compliance Manager/Region VI Shari Allen shari_allen@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1790
7 Regional Compliance Manager/Region I Brandee Brown brandee_brown@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1784
8 Regional Compliance Manager/Region II Tia Gore tia_gore@dekalbschoolsga.org 676-678-1793
9 Regional Compliance Manager/Region Vl Twona Price twona_k_price@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1774
10 Regional Compliance Manager/Region IV Wenona Watson wenona_watson@dekalbschoolsga.org 678-676-1773
Section/Responsibility Contact Name: Email Contact: Office Phone District Cell Phone