COVID-19 Medical Advisory Committee

The DeKalb County School District’s (DCSD) COVID-19 Medical Advisory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the DCSD Superintendent.

The Medical Advisory committee is comprised of medical professionals from the DeKalb and Metro Atlanta region who work collaboratively with DCSD staff.

The purpose of the Medical Advisory Committee is to:

  • Review emerging COVID 19 data to provide guidance to DCSD
  • Provide guidance and make recommendations regarding appropriate and applicable COVID 19 protocols

Committee Members

  • Andrew Gewirtz, Ph.D – Distinguished University Professor, Institute for Biomedical Sciences Georgia State University
  • Veda Johnson, MD – Marcus Professor in General Academics and Pediatrics
    Director, PARTNERS for Equity in Child and Adolescent Health Department of Pediatrics Emory University School of Medicine
  • Rachel W. Linnemann, MD – Pediatric Pulmonologist, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and Emory University School of Medicine
  • Jennifer McQuiston (DVM, MS) – Deputy Director, CDC Division of High Consequence Pathogens and Pathology
  • Julie Pace, Ph.D – Licensed Psychologist and Assistant Professor, Emory Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Jennifer Shu, MD – FAAP—Children’s Medical Group
  • Kenyatta W. Stephens, Ph.D – Infectious Disease Epidemiologist/Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology
  • Dr. Sandra Valenciano – District Health Director & Chief Executive Officer of the DeKalb County Board of Health
  • Lynette Wilson-Phillips, MD, FAAP, FABOM – Community Pediatrician, Decatur Pediatric Group, PA and Kids’ Doc On Wheels
  • Cherry Wongtrakool, MD – Associate Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Sleep Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine

DCSD Staff COVID 19 Medical Advisory Committee Liaisons

  • Dr. Devon Horton, – Superintendent, DeKalb County School District
  • Dr. Quentin Fretwell – Student Relations
  • JoAnn Harris, MSN, BSN, RN, AE-C – Coordinator, Student Health Services
  • Dr. Bernetta Jones – Special Assistant to the Superintendent
  • Portia Kirkland – Communications Director
  • Carolyn Lloyd – Community Partnerships/Special Projects
  • Richard Boyd – Interim COO
  • Stacy Stepney – Chief Academic Officer
  • Vickie Turner – Chair, DeKalb Board of Education