Dr. CollinsTwo DeKalb County School District (DCSD) educators have been nominated for Georgia Teacher of the Year in two respective categories.

Fernbank Science Center’s Dr. David Collins, who specializes in exceptional education, and Barack H. Obama Magnet School of Technology’s Mr. Johnathon Hines, a Pre-Kindergarten teacher, have been nominated to receive some of the highest honors in Georgia education.

Dr. Collins is one of 10 finalists for Georgia Teacher of the Year for 2020. Each finalist is selected from the pool of district teachers of the year and announced by Georgia School Superintendent Richard Woods. A panel of judges determines the finalists for the state award based on essay responses. A winner is expected to be announced on Saturday, May 18, 2019.

Mr. Hines is one of six finalists for Georgia’s Pre-K Program 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year award. Chosen as part of Georgia’s Department of Early Care and Learning program, also known as Bright from the Start, finalists were surprised with visits from the state department as well as a $500 award for school supplies. A winner is expected to be selected and announced in mid-September.

Johnathon Hines“These nominations are further proof that DeKalb County School District hires and retains the best educators in the state of Georgia,” said Superintendent/CEO Dr. R. Stephen Green. “These dedicated teachers have gone above and beyond the call of duty with their profession, impacting and bettering the lives of students on a daily basis with not just rigor, but passion. On behalf of the entire district, I wish them both sincere congratulations. Soar on!”

Should Dr. Collins win overall, he will spend the year traveling the state engaging with various school districts on improving Georgia education. Hines will be observed at the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year and be required to submit videos of himself working in small groups.