2019 DCSD Middle School Boys’ Track Champions – Tucker Tigers

A second consecutive DeKalb County Middle School Track Championship title went to the Tucker Tigers by a 30-point margin of 102-72 over Bethune on Monday at Godfrey Stadium.

The Tigers trailed Bethune 22-13 coming off Saturday’s field events and 1600m run, but a 1-2 finish in the 1600m sprint medley relay to open Monday’s track finals quickly turned things in favor of the defending champions. Tucker won the even with a time of 4:01.05 and took second edging out Bethune by just four thousandths of second to take the lead for good at 31-28.

A win in the 800m sprint medley relay (1:42.87) and a runner-up finish to Bethune (45.38) in the 4x100m relay kept the Tigers in the lead 49-45.

400m Dash champion Xavier Taylor was named Most Valuable Runner for the boys’ meet.

Most Valuable Runner Xavier Taylor played a key role down the stretch with a win in the 400m dash (55.08) just before Jayquan Billingsley (11.51) held off teammate Ethan Sanders-Brown and Salem’s Ashton Moore for the win over the pair who crossed the finish line even in 11.77.

Moore would claim Salem’s only gold of the day with a win in the 200m dash (23.07).

Bethune had no runners in either the 400 or 100 and Tucker’s lead expanded to 76-45 with just three events remaining to all but clinch the title for the second consecutive season.

Renfroe’s William Carlton won both the 800m run and the 1600m run. He set a new meet record in the 1600 with a time of 4:49.58.

Renfroe’s William Carlton won his second gold of the meet with the 800m run title (2:10.23) on Monday. Carlton was the only competitor to break a meet record as he clocked a time of 4:49.58 in the 1600m run on Saturday to break the record of 4:51.50 set by Chamblee’s Andrew Rogers in the 2016 championships.

Cedar Grove’s Barry Jackson won the long jump with his leap of 19-02.00. The shot put title went to Bethune’s Demarious Marshal with his toss of 44-00.00 in Saturday’s competition.

The championship was Tucker’s fourth in six seasons under the guidance of Coach of the Year Jermaine Walker. Walker’s squads won back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015 while coming in as the runner-up in 2016 and 2017.

See link below for full results of the 2019 DCSD Middle School Track Championships:


See link below for updated DCSD Middle School Track Championships Records: