The DeKalb County Boys’ All-Star Soccer Classic lived up to its name for the second consecutive year as the Outside the Perimeter (OTP) squad bested the Inside the Perimeter (ITP) team in a shootout victory after the teams finished regulation and overtime tied 2-2 at Hallford Stadium last week.

The two teams went into the shootout matching penalty kick for penalty kick until it was 4-4. The OTP converted its fifth attempt to take a 5-4 advantage to set up the deciding play.

Tucker goalie Eric Sordom was up to the task as he prevented the ITP score to tie giving his team the second consecutive shootout win in the series.

The OTP squad had to rally from a 2-0 first half deficit to force the overtime when the ITP seemed to be on the way to a third win in the series, but instead the victory evened the series at 2-2-1.

Lakeside’s Max Weider was in on both first half scoring plays for the ITP. He took a well-positioned pass from Clarkston senior Aung Twe and the junior finished the play with a goal for a 1-0 advantage.

As the clock ticked inside the 25th minute of the first half Weider added an assist to his night as he connected with Druid Hills senior Anton Muresan who placed the ball into the bottom left corner for a 2-0 ITP advantage.

OTP pulled one back before halftime as Tucker’s Kalen Campbell scored an unassisted goal after making a steal to trim the lead to 2-1 at the half.

Campbell also played a role in the tying score as his assist to Stone Mountain’s German Ruiz on a breakaway set up the OTP for the tie. Ruiz attacked the goal and was able to get it past the defender into the bottom right corner to knot the game at 2-2.

The victory gave OTP coach Doug Dakin a big going away present as he steps down as Stone Mountain’s coach this year. Max Weider garnered MVP honors for ITP and German Ruiz was named OTP MVP.

ITP 2, OTP 1
The ITP girls’ remained undefeated in the girls’ series as Lakeside’s Sara Weber put a header into the net off a corner kick for the game winner.

The 2-1 victory improved the ITP’s record in the All-Star Classic series to 4-0-1.

Lakeside senior Ashlee Graham opened the scoring early with the first goal of the game for an ITP 1-0 advantage.

Arabia Mountain sophomore Juveina Hylton (second in DeKalb County in goals with 25) made her presence known later in the half as she knotted the game at 1-1 before the half.

Graham moved into goal in the second half after finishing her season allowing just three goals as the Lady Vikings finished 16-1-1. Graham showed why by keeping the OTP scoreless in the second half as the teams moved closer to a possible regulation tie.

A corner kick late in the game set up Weber’s heroics as she put the header into the goal for the 2-1 victory to give the ITP a two-game winning streak in the series as well as keeping the undefeated streak alive.

Graham earned the ITP MVP honors for the second consecutive and became the first All-Star to win it two years in a row. Hylton took home the OTP MVP trophy for her game-tying goal.

Series even at 2-2-1
2011 – ITP 2, OTP 2: Goals — ITP Moises Medina (Cross Keys), Jordy Banegas (Cross Keys); OTP Roy Dixon (Miller Grove), Robel Davis (SW DeKalb)
2012 – ITP 2, OTP 0: Goals – ITP Christian Villalaba (Chamblee), Jose Perez (Chamblee)
2013 – ITP 1, OTP 0: Goals – ITP Fahad Fahad (Clarkston)
2014 – OTP 1, ITP 1, OTP wins 6-5 in PKs; Goals – OTP Rodrigo Perriera (Dunwoody); ITP Mohammed Tombadou (Towers)
2015 – OTP2, ITP 2, OTP wins 5-4 in PKs; Goals – ITP Max Weider (Lakeside), Anton Muresan (Druid Hills); OTP Kalen Campbell (Tucker), German Ruiz (Stone Mountain)

2011 – OTP N/A; ITP N/A
2012 – OTP N/A; ITP N/A
2013 – OTP Josiah Saydee (Tucker); ITP Alexis Briceno (Cross Keys)
2014 – OTP Rodrigo Perriera (Dunwoody); ITP Julian Rugel (Druid Hills)
2015 – OTP German Ruiz (Stone Mountain); ITP Max Weider (Lakeside)

ITP leads series 4-0-1
2011 – ITP 4, OTP 1: Goals – ITP Jane Neiswander (Druid Hills) 2, Taylor Smith (Chamblee), Allison Jones (Chamblee); OTP Becka Kilbourne (Dunwoody)
2012 – ITP 3, OTP 0: Goals – ITP Summer Bader (Lakeside), Claudia Holbrook (Chamblee), Brea Butler (Columbia); OTP None
2013 – ITP 2, OTP 2: Goals – ITP Ally Jones (Chamblee), Caroline Friedman (Chamblee); OTP – Kristen Peagler (SW DeKalb), Anna Doddler (Dunwoody)
2014 – ITP 2, OTP 0: Goals – ITP Ashlee Graham (Lakeside), Jane Morrow (Chamblee); OTP None
2015 – ITP 2, OTP 1: Goals – ITP Ashlee Graham (Lakeside), Sara Weber (Lakeside); OTP Juveina Hylton (Arabia Mountain)

2011 – OTP N/A; ITP N/A
2012 – OTP N/A; ITP Claudia Holbrook (Chamblee)
2013 – OTP Daijah Derimus (Tucker); ITP Jenna Miller (Druid Hills)
2014 – OTP Nettie Brown (Arabia Mountain); ITP Ashlee Graham (Lakeside)
2015 – OTP Juveina Hylton (Arabia Mountain; ITP Ashlee Graham (Lakeside)